Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.
View your shopping cart Shopping Cart | My Account | Help | Become a Fan on Facebook Become a Fan | Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us | Watch Us on YouTube Watch Us | Subscribe to our RSS Feeds Subscribe
Browse ProductsAuthorsArticlesBlogsEncyclopediaNewslettersAffiliate ProgramContact UsBooksellers
Advanced Search
NATURE-BASED & PAGAN
Almanacs & Calendars
Animals & Mythical Creatures
Book of Shadows
Celtic & Druid
Cooking & Crafts
Coven
Faeries & Elementals
Family
Folklore & Natural Magic
Goddess & God Worship
Green Spirituality
Healing
Herbalism
History & Biographies
Home & Garden
Pagan
Practical Techniques
Rites of Passage
Ritual
Sabbats & Seasons
Santeria
Shamanism
Solitary Path
Spells
Wicca
Witchcraft
World Paganism

Email Exclusives
Sign up to receive special offers and promotions from Llewellyn.


Priestess of the Forest
Priestess of the Forest
A Druid Journey

By: Ellen Evert Hopman
Imprint: Llewellyn
Specs: Trade Paperback | 9780738712628
English  |  360 pages | 6 x 9 x 1 IN
Pub Date: February 2008
Price: $26.99 US,  $0.00 CAN
In Stock? Available only within the United States
Qty:

IN-DEPTH DESCRIPTION
MORE INFORMATION
Product Summary
In-depth Description
Publicity Reviews
Browse Inside
(You must be logged in to recommend a product)
   Not yet recommended

The Way of Druid Life

Today, most who practice the way of the Druid live far from the forests and tribes of centuries past. To learn what the life of ancient Druids was like, you could read boring books filled with cold facts that only give the externals. Or, you could get to the heart and soul of the way of the Druids the same way they used to, in stories and tales of wonder and trial and amazement.

In the tradition of books like The Mists of Avalon, Llewellyn is proud to present the tale of a Druidic journey through life. As with any good tale, it is filled with love and passion, responsibility and duty. Written by herbalist and Druid Priestess Ellen Evert Hopman, Priestess of the Forest weaves a tale that will take you back to a time of change almost 1,800 years ago when Christianity was moving to take over the areas that had the Druids as their spiritual leaders. Within this fictional Ireland is the story of Ethne, a Druid priestess, herbalist, and healer. She becomes torn between her love of a man and responsibility to her people. She rises to become the queen of her island, but faces opposition from her people, incursions from Christianity, and a personal loss of terrible proportion.

Priestess of the Forest is a passionate, thrilling tale as exciting as any fantasy novel you will ever read. But unlike those novels, Hopman follows the ancient Druid tradition of turning stories into teaching tools. As part of the experience of the story you'll learn

• Herbal lore
• The culture and daily life of the ancient people
• Magical rites
• Hand fasting
• Baby blessing
• Sword blessing
• Battle magic
• Rituals for holy days

Also sprinkled throughout this story are some of the famous Celtic triads and aphorisms that will give you wisdom and inspiration no matter your spiritual path.

More Than a Story
Priestess of the Forest is going to be the best new novel you'll read this year. But it is far more than just an epic tale of long ago. Beside the wisdom and rituals, the book includes a full glossary giving pronunciations and meanings of the ancient Celtic words as well as an interview with the author about modern Druidism.

This is the book that has it all. It's an amazing fantasy novel of long ago. It's a historical romance of epic proportions. It reveals well-researched information about an ancient culture within the context of a thrilling story. It shares a great deal of herbal lore. In includes rituals and rites, spells, and magic that are every bit as useful today as they were nearly two thousand years ago.

Never before has the sheer excitement of what life was like in that place, at that time, been so well captured.


Everyone knows that brooms and witches go together. Most popular images of witches show them with pointed hats, black cats, and a broom. And while not every witch has a cat (or a funny-looking hat, for that matter), most of us own a broom. But how many of us actually use them for our magical work? When I started writing The Witch's Broom, I'll... read this article
A Healing Spell for Your Cat
Expanding Your Magickal Practice
Cooking Up Magic Right on the Stove: Tips for the Modern Kitchen Witch




Priestess of the Fire Temple
Priestess of the Fire Temple
A Druid's Tale
Ellen Evert Hopman
$18.95 US,  $21.95 CAN | Add to Cart

 
Druid Power
Druid Power
Celtic Faerie Craft & Elemental Magic
Amber Wolfe
$15.95 US,  $18.95 CAN | Add to Cart

 
When I See the Wild God
When I See the Wild God
Encountering Urban Celtic Witchcraft
Ly de Angeles
$20.95 US,  $0.00 CAN | Add to Cart

 
The Path of Druidry
The Path of Druidry
Walking the Ancient Green Way
Penny Billington
$18.95 US,  $21.95 CAN | Add to Cart

 
The Healing Power of Trees
The Healing Power of Trees
Spiritual Journeys Through the Celtic Tree Calendar
Sharlyn Hidalgo
$17.95 US,  $20.95 CAN
$12.57 US,  $14.67 CAN On Sale! | Add to Cart