Posted Under Yoga

8 Yoga Secrets for Psychic Power

Woman Practicing Yoga

Yoga is not just for the purposes of increasing flexibility. It's more than anything a way to unite your consciousness with higher spiritual realms. Originally, it was a deeply esoteric practice that enabled practitioners to develop the ability to control the elements, see through the third eye, and experience enlightenment.

Today, it's been watered down until the version most frequently taught in the West barely resembles what yoga really was. Luckily, there are enough people still practicing traditional versions that can attest to its abilities to heighten and open psychic powers. While it would be easy for many people to practice yoga for years and miss this incredible part of yoga, some of you are looking for it already. To get started, here are yogic secrets that will unlock each of the doors to intuition.

The chakras are energy centers that each correspond to certain emotional states and frequencies. Each needs to be activated to access intuition. The upper chakras specifically, which have a faster frequency, correspond to the highest and most positive emotional states. Once we harmonize our feelings, we can start to see through the third eye, and experience the multidimensional universe.

Spinal Flexes (First Chakra): Sit in a cross-legged position and hold your shins. Inhale through your nose and stretch your chest forward, arching your spine. Exhale through your nose and round your spine. Continue moving back and forth for one to three minutes as you breathe deeply. Keep your head from bobbing back and forth and just moving the spine. At the end inhale, exhale, and relax. First chakra function: vitality, instincts.

Spinal Twists (Second Chakra): Sit in a cross-legged position and bring your hands to your shoulders so the fingers are in front and thumbs are on the back of your shoulders. Keep your elbows parallel to the ground. Close your eyes and inhale through your nose twisting left and exhale twisting right. Continue back and forth for one to four minutes. When finished, inhale at the center, exhale, and relax. Second chakra function: manifestation, creativity.

Wheel Pose (Third Chakra): Lay on your back and bend your knees with the bottoms of your feet on the ground so your heels touch your backside. Bend your elbows and place your palms next to your ears on the ground so your fingertips face towards your shoulders. Press into your hands and feet lifting yourself to the top of your head. Bring your elbows in so they are no wider than your shoulders and then again press into your hands and feet attempting to straighten your arms and legs as you lift your hips. Breathe slowly and deeply through your nose for three to five breaths and slowly lower yourself back to the ground. Third chakra function: optimism, self-empowerment, joy.

Upperward Facing Dog (Fourth Chakra): Lay on your stomach and place your palms facedown next to your shoulders with your elbows bent. With your toes untucked and legs zipped together, press into your hands and pull your heart forward as you straighten your arms. Pull your shoulders down away from your ears and keep the lower belly engaged to protect the lower back. Take three to five slow and deep breaths in and out of the nose and slowly lower down to the ground. Fourth chakra function: empathy, expansion, love.

Plow Pose (Fifth Chakra): Lay on your back and bring your legs straight up as if you were going to stand on the ceiling. Keep your neck straight at all times during this pose. Lift your hips bringing your legs up and over your head possibly bringing the toes to touch over your head. Try to keep your spine straight so it is perpendicular to the ground. Let your chest come to your chin and breathe slowly in and out of your nose. Interlace hands on the ground with straight arms if possible. After three to five slow deep breaths slowly lower yourself back to the ground one vertebrae at a time. Fifth chakra function: expression, communication from spirit.

Chant ONG (Sixth Chakra): This sound current can be chanted for eleven minutes to vibrate your third eye chakra. Take a deep breath in your nose and then chant in a monotone voice elongating each part of the mantra (ohhhh, nnnnn, ghhhh). Repeat it until you're done. Focus your mind at your third eye point as you sit with a tall spine. Sixth chakra function: visions, wisdom.

Headstand (Seventh Chakra): Begin kneeling on your shins and place your hands shoulder-distance apart. Place the top of your head on the ground so there is a triangle between your hands and head. Your elbows will create shelves and you will bring one knee on the back of your arms at a time. Engage your core to bring your hips over your shoulders still in a tucked position and then slowly straighten your legs keeping them engaged. Keep equal weight in your hands and head. Take three to five slow and deep breaths in and out of your nose and slowly exit the pose the same way you went it. Seventh chakra function: peace, spiritual awareness, mediumship.

Breath of Fire (Eighth Chakra): Sit in a cross-legged position with a straight spine. Forcefully push your air out of your nose in one quick burst as you snap your belly in towards your spine. Allow your inhale to happen naturally through your nose as your stomach returns to its usual place. Then again push the air out of your nose repeating the cycle in a steady rhythm for five minutes. At the end take a deep breath in, hold it for ten seconds. Exhale, and relax. Eighth chakra function: radiance, perception.

Concluding Thoughts
This series essentially is a mini-sample of my book Psychic Yoga, which has about 100 poses, meditations, and breathing exercise that target each chakra. You can work with this mini-chakra series daily and experience the transformation of your internal energy and intuitive capabilities. As I emphasize in my book, it is important to set your intention to open and notice your intuition as you work with these yogic tools. Our intention is a vital part of the process because it directs the mind, which harnesses our energy.

As you activate each chakra, the systems of your body will begin to harmonize. You will start to be able to feel the energy of the Universe, which is always changing. The yogis knew, before modern technology, which planets correspond to which chakra and when our body is functioning optimally, we can sense not just what someone is thinking, but how things are shifting on a much bigger scale.

About Shannon Yrizarry

Shannon Yrizarry is a certified yoga teacher and professional clairvoyant who has written extensively in the wellness field. She teaches meditation and leads workshops on transforming the physical and emotional self through ...

Related Products

Please note that the use of Llewellyn Journal articles
is subject to certain Terms and Conditions
Link to this article: